Travel Classics Writers Contests

Bill Fink Writers Contest Winner
Best Travel Story British Columbia

Bill Fink
for "B.C. Billy and the Spirit of the Coast"

"If a totem pole had a white man's face, it would be Billy Proctor's. Gnarled, wrinkled, with squinting eyes and wry smile spreading from ear-to-ear, it's an archetype for the old man of the sea, a weathered and wise countenance that reflects the eight decades he lived on the shores and waters of British Columbia. We see him shuffle along the dock like some ancient coastal spirit launched from a legend of the First Nations tribes whose moss-covered totem poles still dot the islands around Proctor's Echo Bay homestead.

"But moss has never had a chance to grow on Billy Proctor. Even at age 82, he can hardly sit still for a moment. This peripatetic life-long fisherman, logger, and trapper has now become an author, environmental activist, and museum curator, a transformation that captures the spirit of modern coastal British Columbia: one part traditional industry, one part wild nature, with a healthy dash of culture and quirky character."

photo: Bill Fink with Billy Proctor

About the Author:
Bill Fink's writing and photography has appeared in over 50 different publications, including newspapers, magazines, websites, guidebooks, and travel writing anthologies. He has covered topics ranging from five star vacation villas in Tuscany, to trash dump volleyball in Burma, eating squid at a baseball game in Japan and chasing a magic squirrel in the Philippines. Some credits include Yahoo Travel and San Francisco Chronicle, where he's a regular contributor, as well as National Geographic Traveler, Islands Magazine, AFAR, AAA's Via, Private Clubs, books from Frommer's and Lonely Planet, and websites including jetsetter.com, travelmuse.com and CNN.com.

Bill's writing has won many awards including a Lowell Thomas gold for "Best Foreign Travel Newspaper Story" from the Society of American Travel Writers. His stories have appeared in "The Best of Lonely Planet Travel Writing," Travelers' Tales "Best Travel Writing" and as a "notable story" citation in Best American Travel Writing collection. Bill lives in San Francisco, California.

The contest prize includes Exclusive "Feast & Forage" Getaway in Richmond, BC: 3 days of activities including a private fishing charter and dinner featuring your day's catch; a cooking class with an acclaimed dim sum chef; a day of cranberry or local honey foraging, and more; PLUS: 4 nights in luxury accommodations and return airfare; includes all meals and activities for Bill and his guest.
Past Contests:

TC Vancouver 2015
TC Arizona 2014
TC Alberta 2013
TC Ireland 2013
TC Arizona 2012
TC Wales 2012
TC Vancouver 2011
TC Dublin 2011
TC Arizona 2010
TC Quebec 2010
TC West 2009
TC Ireland 2009
TC West 2008
TC West 2007
TC Europe 2007
TC West 2005
TC Ireland 2005
TC West 2004
Past Contest Winners:

2015 - Bill Fink
2014 - Kathleen Mangan
2013 - Jill K. Robinson
2013 - Kimberley Lovato
2012 - Rachel Dickinson
2012 - Michael Shapiro
2011 - Margie Goldsmith
2011 - Sally Shivnan
2010 - Michael Shapiro
2010 - Rachel Dickinson
2009 - Michael Shapiro
2009 - Laura Read/Gayle Keck
2008 - Michael Shapiro
2008 - Echo Garrett
2007 - Kathleen Mangan
2007 - Paul Ross
2006 - Wayne Curtis
2006 - Margie Goldsmith
2005 - Allan Lynch
2005 - Ed Readicker-Henderson
2004 - Barbara Wysocki
2003 - Ed Readicker-Henderson
2002 - Margie Goldsmith
2001 - Melanie McManus
2000 - Judy Kirkwood
1999 - Melanie McManus
1998 - Yvonne Jeffery
1997 - Laura Byrne Paquet

Current Contest:

Best Story on Switzerland
Deadline: October 15, 2016. Find out more.
Previous Contests:

Best Story on British Columbia
Deadline: April 1, 2016. Find out more.
Best Travel Story on Arizona
Deadline: April 1, 2015. Find out more.
Best Travel Story on Alberta
Find out more.
Best Travel Story Ireland 2013
Luxury 18-day vacation for two in Ireland offered by Adams and Butler Tours.
Find out more.

Best Travel Story Arizona 2012
3-night vacation for two at the new Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe.
Find out more.

TC main   conferences main   New Books   contests   past events   contact us

©2000-2015 TravelClassics.com; all rights reserved.
web development: Sonoma Web Design